Breaking Down The Scoring at Frozen Fenway

January 15, 2012

(Graham Beck/Heights Editor)

By Greg Joyce

A look at Boston College’s 2-1 win over Northeastern at Fenway Park on Saturday night:

HOW IT HAPPENED: After a scoreless first period, the Eagles got on the board first 4:55 into the second frame. With a loose puck behind his own net, NU goaltender Chris Rawlings went to the boards to collect the puck, but he whiffed on the pass. Steven Whitney took advantage for BC, getting the puck on his stick and passing it to a wide-open Pat Mullane in front of the net. Mullane easily one-timed the puck into the empty net for the lead.

Northeastern slapped home a rebound with under four minutes left in the second period, evening the score going into the third. But the Eagles would score the game winner just four minutes into the final frame on a shorthanded tally. Chris Kreider flew into the offensive zone with the puck wide, and quickly made a move towards the net. In what seemed like a millisecond, the puck went from Kreider’s stick to the back of the net, but not before a confusing turn of events. Here are both sides of the story:

Rawlings’ story: “[Kreider] took the puck wide, and he stormed the net hard and he just kind of put the puck on net and I don’t know…I think he took me out and the net came off a little bit. [The puck] went off my stick and he came into me and that’s the last thing I could really see.”

Kreider’s story: “Danny [Linell] gave me a great pass, it kind of put the defenseman in limbo and made it a little harder for him. I tried to get to the net, and to be honest, I don’t really know what happened after that, I just remember being on the ice. I thought Danny scored it. I guess I kind of ran into the goalie, and the puck just kind of squirted in.”

Overall thoughts from head coach Jerry York: “I thought it was a good game. I enjoyed the game. I thought our team played well, coming off perhaps our worst game of the season last night up at UMass Amherst, where we did absolutely nothing offensively and we were poor defensively, to come back tonight and play a solid 2-1 game.”

Leave a Reply

